7th concert

Grigory Sokolov, piano

The Slovene Philharmonic Hall
March 27th, 2001
(Concert venue could be subject to alteration)


t. b. a.


In 1966, as a ninth grader, Grigory Sokolov entered the renowned Tchaikovsky Piano Competition and walked away with First Prize and the prestigious Gold Medal. But the years following proved that the unanimous decision of the distinguished jury, headed by Emil Gilels, was no mistake. Sokolov had been known to the Russian music world for years. Musically precocious, he had attracted attention since the age of five. His early education was at a special music school, but he soon entered the Leningrad Conservatory, and made his first important public appearance at twelve.
Today Grigory Sokolov is a regular guest at the most important concert halls of Europe and the USA. He has performed in London, Paris, Vienna, Berlin, Madrid, Salzburg, Rome, New York, worked with many of the world’s most prominent conductors including Neeme Järvi, Riccardo Chailly, Herbert Blomstedt, Valery Gergiev, Charles Dutoit, Claus Peter Flor, Trevor Pinnock, Paavo Berglund, Jukka-Pekka Saraste, Yan Pascal Tortelier, Walter Weller, Alexander Lazarev, and with orchestras such as the New York Philharmonic, The Montreal Symphony, Münchner Philharmoniker, Leipzig Gewandhaus, The Philharmonia, Amsterdam Concertgebouw, Detroit Symphony, etc.
Grigory Sokolov ranks among the world’s most formidable and quietly celebrated pianists of today. Reviewing his New York Philharmonic debut with conductor Valery Gergiev, the New York Times wrote: 
“Sokolov is a musician of huge power and huge personality” and a few days later the San Francisco Examiner described his recital as “one of the most distinctive music events of the decade … a kind of pianist, musicianship and artistry one thought had vanished forever.”
European critics have marveled at Sokolov’s genius. After a performance at the Helsinki Festival, the Helsingin Sanomat praised him: “Saying that Grigory Sokolov is one of today’s greatest pianists is no news, it is an obvious fact”, while of the last recital in Amsterdam Concertgebouw the Trouw wrote, “Sokolov threw himself into the music, playing with complete abandon while never losing control over the sound or his technique … Sokolov demonstrated he is a very great pianist”.
His first recital at the Edinburgh Festival 1999 was reviewed by The Scotsman: “Grigory Sokolov: best piano playing of the entire Festival.”


Hans Fagius, organ | Eugen Indjic, piano | András Schiff, piano | Irena Grafenauer, flute; Maria Graf, harp; Ana Chumachenko, violin; Gérard Caussé, viola; Gustav Rivinius, violoncello | Vadim Repin, violin; Itamar Golan, piano | Hugo Wolf String Quartet | Grigory Sokolov, piano | Norbert Düchtel, organ; Boris Cavazza, narrator | Klaus Mertens, bass ; Daniel Sepec, violin; Jaap ter Linden, violoncello; Richard Fuller, pianoforte | David Finckel, violoncello; Wu Han, piano